Custom Detection allows you to teach your Arlo devices to recognize certain objects or changes within the camera view. You can select which cameras will detect these objects or changes. This feature can only be used in accordance with your local laws. Custom Detections that contain people may require you to provide notice and obtain consent from people used as an object to detect. This feature does not recognize individual people, other than whether they are present in the frame, as determined by the setup for the Custom Detection itself (e.g. Yes/No, On/Off, Open/Close). Unless an individual is included in the snapshots saved within your Custom Detection or other Arlo Advanced AI features, Arlo will not recognize them specifically.
Arlo will not use the images collected when you set up Custom Detection for any purposes beyond teaching your cameras to detect objects or changes that you had previously configured. Arlo does not use the images to train the general Arlo AI model.
You may enable and disable Custom Detection anytime. If you select the “Disable and Erase All Content” option, the collected images will be deleted within 24 hours. Once deleted, images are fully and permanently deleted and unrecoverable.
To learn more about how Custom Detection works, visit: What is Arlo’s Custom Detection and how do I set it up?
To learn more about privacy at Arlo, visit: Arlo’s Privacy Notice